New announcement. Learn more

For all notices email


Taurahere Trustee Elections 2022 Announcement

Tēnā koutou e te iwi,

With the return of the final vote count for the Taurahere Trustee election for the Central and Lower North island position, we can now confirm the following:

90 votes received – of those, 87 valid votes received and 3 invalid votes received.

1. Aroha Beck received 57 votes in total

2. Tarewa Rota received 30 votes in total.

Therefore we determine AROHA BECK as the duly elected Central/Lower North Island Taurahere Trustee on the Tapuika Iwi Authority Trust and Tapuika Fisheries Trust Boards.

With the stepping down of Witeri Williams as Chairperson, Ngāti Kurī Trustee representative Rāwiri Biel has stepped up to the plate. Tau kē. Witeri will still be holding the position of Northern North Island/Auckland Taurahere Trustee as there were no other nominees put forward earlier this year.

And finally, with Ateremu McNeill stepping down from his position as South Island Taurahere Trustee, we received one nomination for this position – Katie Le Roux, also elected earlier this year.

Congratulations to the two new faces on the Board, Witeri for his continued mahi, and Rāwiri for taking on the ever-important responsibilities as Chair.

More information will follow regarding the vote on the Trust Deed Changes when the final votes are counted.


This product has been added to your cart